Footprints

25 Apr

Footprints
By Tadalena Warner

When spring comes upon the glen, I see the deer footprints from when
Winter’s wrath left its trail, secret passages from whence it fell
Now, dawn has come and shown the light, clearing shadows bringing life

22 Responses to “Footprints”

  1. The Course of Our Seasons April 25, 2013 at 10:51 pm #

    Really like this – the lilting nature of the verse is wonderful – K

    • Tad April 25, 2013 at 10:52 pm #

      yeah, it’s all the fresh air and tree pollen…it goes to my head

  2. Rowan Taw April 25, 2013 at 11:01 pm #

    I always feel excited to spot animal footprints, and know they’ve passed nearby.

    • Tad April 25, 2013 at 11:05 pm #

      Really? I’m not that brave. We’ve got the Florida panther here. Seeing a cub run down a trans was enough to make me a little leery. Not to mention, we’ve got the black bear too.

      • Rowan Taw April 25, 2013 at 11:08 pm #

        Ha Ha! I’m certainly not brave – I’ve lived in the UK and NZ and neither have dangerous mammals (well except man of course) : )

  3. Grace April 25, 2013 at 11:25 pm #

    I have yet to see a deer nor its footprints ~ I specially like the last line ~

    • Tad April 25, 2013 at 11:29 pm #

      Sorry to hear that…a couple of months ago, there was one sprinting across the road less than a mile from my flat. Occasionally, I’ll see 1-3 standing by the side of the road. Their smaller here in Florida. The big boys are up north and you can even catch them trolling down town not far from my aunt’s place. I’ll keep my camera on me. Maybe God will bless with an opportunity to capture a snap to share.

  4. brian miller April 25, 2013 at 11:55 pm #

    clearing shadows bringing life…love the dawn of spring in your poem…we have deer that sleep in our backyard…its pretty amazing to see them every night…plenty of trails…and they get the grapes that fall to the earth as well…smiles.

    • Tad April 26, 2013 at 12:14 am #

      🙂 Grapes?

      At my aunt’s place, the deer come up on the side porch during the winter looking for food. If she hadn’t been in the kitchen when one decided to visit he may have found his way up stairs.

  5. Samuel Peralta / Semaphore April 26, 2013 at 2:36 am #

    The image of the deer footprints is so vivid, that the rest of their presence comes through as clear as anything. Well wrought!

    • Tad April 26, 2013 at 7:35 am #

      Thank you

  6. kkkkaty1 April 26, 2013 at 3:16 am #

    Deer are an icon of nature unlike any other and this a melodious as well 😉

    • Tad April 26, 2013 at 7:37 am #

      Thanks

  7. claudia April 26, 2013 at 4:37 am #

    nice on the deer footprints…my grandma always had deers in the garden when they came out from the close-by forest..loved watching them from the kitchen window…love how nature awakes with spring again…

    • Tad April 26, 2013 at 7:39 am #

      Yes ma’am and thank you

  8. Björn Rudberg (brudberg) April 26, 2013 at 4:50 am #

    Lovely alloterations and internal rhymes.

    • Tad April 26, 2013 at 7:39 am #

      Thank you.

  9. Kelvin S.M. April 26, 2013 at 9:25 am #

    …ah, you have a beautiful day… glad there’s already signs of life all over again in lawns & damp earth… smiles… i enjoyed your take,,,

    • Tad April 26, 2013 at 12:07 pm #

      Thank you

  10. Tony Maude April 26, 2013 at 4:31 pm #

    Your use of rhyme enhances the musicality of the form. We have deer living in a nearby wood, occasionally I see them when I’m out walking.

    • Tad April 26, 2013 at 4:53 pm #

      Thank you. I don’t know what I’d do if I saw a deer up close and personal. On the other hand, my aunt in Kentucky, she’s not afraid and down right loves it! Where she lives, she gets them coming up to her all of the time. In her back yard, on her daily walks, they are everywhere..lol.
      That reminds me, I need to find out how she’s doing.

  11. Snakypoet (Rosemary Nissen-Wade) April 27, 2013 at 4:39 am #

    I like your rhyming sijo!

Leave a Reply

