Alice in Wonderland

18 Apr

Alice in Wonderland
By Tadalena Warner

Through the looking glass, I see
Caterpillars, dandelions, and fricassee
Cheshire cat in purple and pink
Smoking a pipe whist giving me a wink
A come-hither stare coaxing me in
his infernal snare where no one wins
Here little pretty
Here little snipe
Here little Alice
Isn’t this nice
You wanted the jam
You wanted the cake
Well, here you are, he said
Handing me a plate
Help yourself my dear
Help yourself before it’s too late
Come get a slice before the queen does wake
Gobble it down
Gobble it quick
Gobble it up before she does slip
Out of her rest, out of her place
Out of her head when she sees your face
Be you warned, be you wise
Be forewarned before she doth rise
From her bed she’ll wake enrage
From her head, she’ll call your name
Say it once
Say it twice
Say it again not so nice
Alice, is that you, she’ll call
Before ordering your head to fall
Off it will roll, off it will slide
Off with your head she’ll say rather snide
Wicked witch
Wicked queen
Wicked she is dressed in green
Silly little Alice
Silly little girl
Silly little dame with a golden curl

11 Responses to “Alice in Wonderland”

  1. claudia April 23, 2013 at 7:33 pm #

    ha…loving alice in wonderland…most of all the conversations…they’re so wonderfully weird and deep at the same time…be careful that you don’t fall into that rabbit hole…smiles

    • Tad April 23, 2013 at 9:22 pm #

      Rabbit hole shmabit hole
      I’m not afraid of bunnies or bees
      You see, it’s quite clear
      Rabbits and crickets are the ones in fear
      I’ll pull at their ears and tug at their legs
      Then gently stroke them before breaking an egg
      Into my pot, my honey pot spree
      That’s where I cook my fricassee
      Slow at first then turn up the flame
      Roast the bastards while they scream out my name
      I’m not afraid, not a single bit
      You see, it’s a rabbit I call my bitch
      He loves it when I’m mean
      He loves it when I’m green
      He loves it and more
      Scrappy little rabbit is my big daddy whore

  2. Timoteo April 23, 2013 at 8:57 pm #

    …and you’ve just had some kind of mushroom…

    • Tad April 23, 2013 at 8:59 pm #

      no sweetheart, not a mushroom…I’m like this naturally 😀

  3. brian miller April 23, 2013 at 9:28 pm #

    smiles…alice in wonderland is such a cool story…really like the repetition in line beginnings…not consistent all the way through but that makes it all the cooler as it makes the lines un-repped jump out a bit more…cool verse…

    • Tad April 23, 2013 at 9:30 pm #

      thanks…I added a bit to it …you’ll have to scroll down to the first comment to see. I used a comment and built from there.

  4. Mary April 23, 2013 at 9:45 pm #

    I enjoyed your imaginative and creative take on a familiar tale.

    • Tad April 23, 2013 at 9:50 pm #

      Thanks

  5. M. J. Joachim April 24, 2013 at 2:08 am #

    hahaha – That was cute!

    • Tad April 24, 2013 at 3:13 am #

      thanks 🙂 make sure to check out the first comment. I built a little more in response 😀

  6. I HAVE A VOICE April 25, 2013 at 12:35 am #

    pure levity ingenuity !

Leave a Reply

